Our Pastor

Dear Covenant Partners and Friends of LPC,

Welcome to Lewes Presbyterian Church! I am pleased that you are checking out our digital front door and I hope that you will join us in person. 

I have been a pastor since 1992 and have led a variety of churches in various regions of the country. I’ve been married to my wife Laura since we graduated from Virginia Tech in 1986 and we have three children, a daughter-in-law and a grandson. 

I have been passionate about Christ since accepting Christ at a very early age while growing up in California. Growing up as a “Navy Brat,” I have lived in California, Alaska, D.C., Maryland and Bermuda. As ministry family, we have lived in Virginia, North Carolina and Pennsylvania. I relate to a wide variety of people from all walks of life and desire to make Christ known in whatever role God has placed me. I look forward to meeting you in person.



The Session

Every congregation is governed by its session. The session consists of the elders duly elected by and from the covenant partners (members) of the congregation, along with the congregation’s installed pastors and associate pastors. By its own rule, the congregation shall determine the number of elders, their length of service, and the ordering of the session. The minimum number shall be three active elders plus the moderator. LPC's bylaws call for a 9-elder session.

According to the ECO Polity and Discipline Manual, the Session has responsibility and authority for governing the congregation and guiding its mission for Christ in the world. In the Reformed tradition the marks of the church are the proclamation of the Word, the Sacraments rightly celebrated, and the exercise of discipline. 

The Session is comprised of Elders elected by the congregation. Elders are given authority and responsibility, along with pastors, to oversee the spiritual health of the congregation as well as the congregation’s faithfulness to God’s mission. For a more complete description of the duties and responsibilities of the Session, click here to read the complete description of duties as presented in section 1.0603 The Responsibilities of the Session.

2020  Session Members with Committee Membership Assignments

  • Ann Athey, Children and Youth Ministry (Chair), Congregational Fellowship and Outreach, Nominating. 
  • Alex Brown, Building and Grounds (Chair)
  • Gerry Brown, Clerk of Session, Evangelism (Chair), Congregational Fellowship and Outreach (Co-Chair), Finance, 
  • Maria DiPasquale, Stewardship (Chair) 
  • Sylvia Gilmore, Christian Ed-Adult (Chair), Library, Congregational Fellowship and Outreach.
  • Jim Miller,  Finance (Chair), Congregational Fellowship and Outreach (Co-Chair), Endowment (Chair)
  • Michael Salvatore, Personnel (Chair), Nominating (Chair)
  • T.J. Smith, Worship (Chair)
  • Jeannine White, Mission (Chair), Endowment