Our Pastor

Dear Covenant Partners and Friends of LPC,

Annick and I were overwhelmed by the great outpouring of love that we received at my retirement celebration, and would like to express our heartfelt gratitude to Denise, Connie, Cathy and Bill and our daughter Katie who organized and facilitated the event, to Katie, Melanie, Connie, Hilary and the choir who provided beautiful and meaningful music, to all of the covenant partners and friends, colleagues and family members who participated and showered us with touching expressions of love and good wishes, cards, and generous birthday and retirement gifts!  The celebration put a glorious exclamation point on what has been the best years of my life, in which I have had the wonderful privilege and the joy of serving along with you in ministry and mission as your pastor.  We greatly appreciate the Session for making the celebration possible, for the most generous retirement gift, as well as the gift of the columbarium niche. 

As we head for possible ministry in France, armed with the beautiful French Bible gifted by the Youth Group, we want you to know that, while I am no longer your pastor, Annick and I will keep you all in our hearts and in our prayers.  And we hope that you will remember to pray for us.  For we will always be your friends, and your brother and sister in Christ. And it is comforting for us to know that we will always have a spiritual home at LPC, as well as a final resting place for our earthly remains, even as we look forward to the future joy of eternal fellowship with you in the presence of the Lord in glory.

With much love in Christ,

Buz and Annick


The Session

Every congregation is governed by its session. The session consists of the elders duly elected by and from the covenant partners (members) of the congregation, along with the congregation’s installed pastors and associate pastors. By its own rule, the congregation shall determine the number of elders, their length of service, and the ordering of the session. The minimum number shall be three active elders plus the moderator. LPC's bylaws call for a 12-elder session.

According to the ECO Polity and Discipline Manual, the Session has responsibility and authority for governing the congregation and guiding its mission for Christ in the world. In the Reformed tradition the marks of the church are the proclamation of the Word, the Sacraments rightly celebrated, and the exercise of discipline. 

The Session is comprised of Elders elected by the congregation. Elders are given authority and responsibility, along with pastors, to oversee the spiritual health of the congregation as well as the congregation’s faithfulness to God’s mission. For a more complete description of the duties and responsibilities of the Session, click here to read the complete description of duties as presented in section 1.0603 The Responsibilities of the Session.

2018 Session Members with Committee Membership Assignments

  • Ann Athey, Children and Youth Ministry (Co-Chair), Pastor Nominating
  • Denise Barnes, Children and Youth Ministry (Co-Chair), Nominating (Chair), Pastor Nominating
  • Fred Beaufait*, Building Maintenance (Chair), Finance
  • Gerry Brown, Clerk of Session, Stewardship (Chair), Congregational Fellowship and Outreach (Co-Chair), Finance, Pastor Nominating
  • Rob Hoeller, Personnel (Chair)
  • Sylvia Gilmore, Christian Ed-Adult (Chair), Library
  • Bill Landon, Endowment (Chair), Cemetery and Grounds
  • George Macintire, Cemetery and Grounds (Chair), Endowment
  • Jim Miller,  Finance (Chair), Congregational Fellowship and Outreach (Co-Chair), Pastor Nominating (Chair)
  • T.J. Smith, Worship (Co-Chair), Pastor Nominating
  • Tim Westgate, Worship (Co-Chair), Pastor Nominating
  • Jeannine White, Mission (Chair)
  • Nancy Williams, Building Use (Chair), LASP Advisory Committee, Pastor Nominating

* Non-Session Member

The Board of Deacons

The Board of Deacons are elected by the congregation to serve a three-year term. The Deacons minister to those in need, to the sick, to the friendless, and to any who may be in distress both within and beyond the community of faith. A complete description of the activities of the Deacons and the Caring Ministry can be found here. Currently nine Deacons are serving their elected terms. However, in addition, many past Deacons and other members assist in this ministry to the needy.

2018 Board of Deacons

  • Jim Athey
  • Bill Baughman
  • Carol Bishop
  • Carol Brown
  • Brenda Nelson
  • Beth Rendel
  • Kathy Ross
  • Ellen Serafini, Chair